June 8, 2012 – July 8, 2012

4th of July in Eastland, Texas

We entered North Shore RV Park in Eastland, Texas at 8:45 p.m. Our campsite was situated on beautiful Lake Leon. To our surprise we arrived just in time to enjoy the fireworks, the town literally exploded at 9:00 p.m.! The old saying that “Everything’s bigger in Texas” sure rang true this 4th of July. The firework display over the lake was amazing. The colors lit up the sky for an hour and thirty minutes! The weather was perfect, with a gentle breeze blowing off Lake Leon. If the fireworks were not enough, I spotted two zebras grazing in the sun, on the ranch down the road. For a moment, I thought I was on safari! John, our campground host, claimed there are more privately owned exotics in Texas, than any other state. It certainly was more than I expected for a quick overnight stop. On the road again, headed for somewhere in Texas; my father is keeping the location a surprise!

Leave a comment